About Us

About Us

Essex Agency 2015As a locally owned and operated agency we understand and advocate for you, the insurance buyer. Our trained and experienced staff will work with you to tailor your coverage to meet your needs. Our 25 employees know our community and live in your neighborhoods.

The Essex Agency was founded in 1972 by UVM Graduates George Kriener and John Hynes. This successful partnership was set in motion unexpectedly at a holiday party. Present at the party were Benton Haley and Bill Brooks of Vermont Mutual. When learning of John’s interest in an appointment, Mr. Haley soon delivered what the agency principals had been seeking: appointments with both Vermont Mutual and The Peerless (now Liberty Mutual.) This chance apointment set the foundation for the agency’s mission to serve the community. Over the years we have chosen to stay in our original location at the heart of Essex Junction, to continue to foster that connection.

Currently, the agency is owned and operated by UVM Graduates David Holton, who joined the team in 1973 and John Handy, who followed in 1983. Both continue to actively serve on various boards in the community and are deeply involved in volunteer organizations.

Since 1972, we’ve grown our business as well as our place in the community. Today we represent more than a dozen insurance companies, both national and local. With that privilege comes the ability to provide you with the policy you need at the best available price.

PERSONAL LINES

Dolores Bauer

Asst. Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2000

dbauer@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 120

Cindy Belval, ACSR, CISR, CPIW

Receptionist

Insurance Professional
since 1997

cbelval@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 100

Pamela Brault

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 1994

pamelab@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 106

MJ Fitzgerald

Asst. Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 1989

mj@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 104

Liza A. Giroux

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 1992

liza@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 105

Christine Johnson

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2008

Chris@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 101

Bonnie LaPine, CISR

Receptionist

Insurance Professional
since 1988

bonnie@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 126

McKay Steady

Asst. Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2014

mckays@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 107

Jennie Wing Wheeler

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 1994

jennieb@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)878-0852

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 108

COMMERCIAL LINES

Diana Blow, CRIS, CISR, ACSR

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 1980

dianab@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802) 878-5334

EXT. 111

Lynn Ferro

CFO

since 2001

Lynnf@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 102

Emily Mackey

Asst. Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2003

emily@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 116

Susan Mongeon, CPIW, AIC

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
Since 1977

susan@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 109

Missy Morse-Luke

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2003

missy@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 119

Michelle Southwell

Asst. Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2005

michelle@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 123

Jennie Wafer, CIC

Account Manager

Insurance Professional
since 2001

jwafer@essexagency.com

FAX:(802)288-8012

PHONE:(802)878-5334

EXT. 110